07
Sep
15

Wear and Tear

I feel like I should apologize, for turning this in to an RC car blog.

I was having some trouble with the Truck cat’s brakes binding on one side. Low speed crawling resulted in the left side track repeatedly locking up. I tracked it down to the brakes, that it uses to steer. My homemade Formica brake shoes had worn more than I thought they had. It’s hard to get a good look at the shoes, when they’re in place, but I noticed a notch worn into one of them. Once I had them out of the truck, I could see the full extent of the damage.

truck51

I screwed up the arrangement in that picture. The top left, and top middle are the left side brake shoes. The ones on the far right, are one pair of the new ones I just made. The top left and bottom middle are the ones that sit closer to the middle of the chassis. I have no idea, why the left one is so much more worn. They’re not only worn through the color layer of the Formica, but through the white layer beneath, and into the substrate. I’m pretty sure the brake disk was wedging into recess it had worn into the shoe.

I tried to get a shot of the edge of the most heavily worn shoe, It’s not a good picture, but you can see the steps along the edge.

truck52

Now, I don’t remember when I put these in, but it’s been six, maybe even eight months, and I’ve been driving the thing, almost daily. (Backyard trail, for the win!) The truck uses these to steer, not stop. So, that’s a lot of wear on anything. Given how much more controllable they make the truck, I think I can deal with having to replace them a couple of times a year. I need to get myself another RC, so I can spread out the wear. 🙂

1 Response to “Wear and Tear”



Comments are currently closed.

Archive

Calender

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

