01
May
15

Old Times: Part Deux

Did you know that Windows has a built in backup, that can create and restore a disk image? Pity it also has to completely wipe the existing partitioning to do it. Doesn’t matter if you’re only trying to restore a single partition….

 

Anyway, after running chkdsk, and getting the bad sectors sorted, I really didn’t feel like messing with Clonezilla, again. I don’t feel like I’m quite up to the technical skills that Linux interfaces require. So, I gave Macrium Reflect another try. It still wouldn’t clone the disk. Kept popping up with “error 13.” This always seemed to coincide with Windows telling me the drive needed to be formatted, to use it. I feel like this is something Macrium needs to fix in their software.

 

Anyway, Reflect was finally able to make an image of the C: drive. Of course, I was expecting it to throw up an error, the whole time. I immediately “restored” the image to the new drive. Which Reflect automatically partitioned to 50 gigabytes, without asking me…. At least Windows can expand a partition, without trashing all the data in it. I shut the computer down, disconnected the old drive, plugged the new one into the “SATA 0” connector, and rebooted the computer.

 

IT WORKED!

 

So, I’ve got everything moved over to the new drive, with no data lost. C: is now 200 gigs, and hopefully won’t run out of space again, anytime soon. Pretty sure my blood pressure has returned to normal now, too.

 

Back to work on the truck-cat….



Archive

Calender

May 2015
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031